We are the Wildcats!

Book Award Links

Randolph Caldecott 

The Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

Coretta Scott King 

Designed to commemorate the life and works of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and to honor Mrs. Coretta Scott King for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace, the Coretta Scott King Book Awards annually recognize outstanding books for young adults and children by African American authors and illustrators that reflect the African American experience. Further, the Award encourages the artistic expression of the black experience via literature and the graphic arts in biological, social, and historical treatments by African American authors and illustrators. 

Lone Star Reading List 

Following the success of the Bluebonnet program for third through sixth grades, the Young Adult Round Table decided to investigate the creation of a state-wide reading incentive program for middle schoolers. The committee chose to create a recommended reading list rather than an award. The first Lone Star list was presented at the 1990 Annual Conference. The pilot was considered a great success and was accepted by the TLA Executive Board as a standing committee in 1992. 

John Newbery Medal 

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children. 

Texas 2 x 2 Reading List 

The 2X2 Committee's charge is to produce a t list of 20 recommended books for children, age two to grade two. The 2X2 Reading List is a project of the Children's Round Table, a unit of the Texas Library Association. Texas Library Association sponsors the 2X2 Reading List  solely to encourage free voluntary reading. 

Texas Bluebonnet Award 

Texas Bluebonnet Award is a unique program that encourages reading for pleasure and is aimed at students in grades 3-6. Each year, 20 books are chosen as the "Texas Bluebonnet Award Master List" by the TBA selection committee. If students read a minimum of five books from the current master list (or have the books read aloud to them), they have the opportunity to vote for their favorite title during the month of January each year. The author the book receiving the most votes statewide is declared the winner of the Texas Bluebonnet Award.